top of page

DIY Suitcase Chair


Several years ago I stumbled across a DIY Suitcase Chair pin on Pinterest and I knew I had to try it! I apologize in advance, I don't have any step-by-step photos as I built this a long time ago, but I will do my best to describe it in detail.

What you need:

- 1 Suitcase (I found a hardshell vintage one at a local thrift store)

- 4 chair legs & attachments (found at any hardware store)

- 1 piece of plywood cut to fit inside the bottom half of your suitcase

- Wood glue

- Foam cut to fit inside the bottom of your suitcase

- 2 pillows or fabric and stuffing (I used a bigger pillow for the bottom and smaller for the top)

- Optional: needle and thread for tufting cushions

Step 1:

Paint your chair legs and let dry fully. If you have brass feet (like mine) tape them with masking tape so as not to get any paint on them.

Step 2:

Cut the plywood and foam to fit into your suitcase.

Squirt wood glue on the bottom half of your suitcase and fit in the plywood - this is optional but I found it helpful for keeping the wood in place while I screwed on the legs. Let sit for recommended amount of time.

Step 3:

Turn the suitcase upside down and layout where your legs will sit. I marked where the screw holes will be so when I went to screw them in I could line them up again. I did mine by hand but it was pretty labour-intensive so if you have a power drill (and feel comfortable using it) I highly recommend using it.

Step 4:

When the legs are screwed in and sturdy, flip the chair upright again. Layer glue over the plywood and stick down the foam. This provides a nice cushioning effect between the pillow and the plywood and makes the chair much more comfortable.

Step 5 (Optional):

While the glue is drying you can tuft your cushions. Start by marking out where you want the tufts to go. I chose a pattern like the '5' side of a die. To tuft, use a long needle and thick thread - this will help make sure the tufts stay in place and don't break.

Step 6:

For the final step, glue your bottom cushion to the foam, and your top cushion to the inside of the top of the suitcase. I did the top first so I could let it dry upside down. I stacked textbooks on the cushions to make sure it was held down so the glue could properly attach.

Optional:

My suitcase came with a hinge that prevents the top from falling all the way open. You can find a similar hinge or support at your local hardware store and screw it onto the conjoining corners.

This chair makes an excellent conversation piece and I love being able to say that I made it! I hope you feel the same way about your new Suitcase Chair.

-L

bottom of page